The Botanic Gardens and Parks Authority Act 1998 was proclaimed on 1 July 1999 to dissolve the Kings Park Board and rename the organisation the Botanic Gardens and Parks Authority.

The Act clearly defines the functions and powers of the Authority and allows for the designation of other lands, such as Bold Park, to be placed in the care, control and management of the Authority.


The Botanic Garden and Parks Authority sits within the portfolio of the Hon. Stephen Dawson, Minister for Environment; Disability Services. He was appointed to the position in March, 2017.

Board of Management

The Board of Management has been the governing body of the Botanic Gardens and Parks Authority since the Authority was established in 1999. Board members are appointed by the Minister for Environment and are eligible for re-appointment at the end of their term. The members of the Board are appointed according to their experience in areas relevant to the Authority's activities and meet on a regular basis to consider issues of a strategic and policy nature.

The current Board membership is as follows:

Mr Richard Simpson
Mr Simpson was appointed to the BGPA Board of Management as the Chairman in 2002 and is also Chair of the BGPA Audit Committee. Mr Simpson has significant commercial and management experience in the financial services sector and nearly 30 years experience in providing investment banking advice to a range of corporate and government clients in Australia and internationally. He has worked in investment banks in London, Sydney, Melbourne and Perth. Mr Simpson was Chairman and Managing Director of Hartleys Limited from 2003 to 2008 and Head of Corporate Finance from 2002 to 2009. He remains a Director of Hartleys Limited. Mr Simpson was formally re-appointed to the Board in 2014 until December 2017.

Mr Grant Robinson
Deputy Chairperson

Mr Robinson has been a BGPA Board member since 2006 and is a partner at KPMG, with a focus on audit and assurance services. He has experience in a broad range of industry sectors, both listed and non-listed entities including not-for-profit and Government agencies. Mr Robinson also assists the BGPA as a member of the BGPA Audit Committee. Mr Robinson was re-appointed to the Board in 2015 until December 2017.

Mr Tom Baddeley
Mr Baddeley was appointed to the BGPA Board in 2010 and is Manager, Government and Community Relations, WA and NT, at Australian energy company, Santos. He was previously Director WA of the Australian Petroleum Production and Exploration Association. Mr Baddeley was previously WA Director of the Committee for Economic Development of Australia and was a solicitor before moving into journalism. Mr Baddeley was re-appointed to the Board in 2015 until May 2018.

Mr Tony Brooks
Mr Tony Brooks was appointed to the BGPA Board of Management in October 2014. Mr Brooks has significant senior management experience in both the Property and Advertising sectors in Australia and around the world, where, over the last 25 years, he has been based in cities such as New York, Boston, Auckland, Melbourne and now Perth. Tony is Founder and Chief Executive Officer of Perth based commercial property firm - Altegra Property Group. Mr Brooks has also recently been appointed to the Board at Parkerville Children and Youth Care (Inc.) and is a member of the Property Council of Australia. Mr Brooks was appointed for a three-term until October 2017.

Ms Nyomi Horgan
Ms Horgan holds a Bachelor of Commerce from Curtin University of Technology majoring in Marketing and Management. She is currently the Senior Counsel at gtmedia and has an extensive background in marketing, communications and management positions. As former International Rose of Tralee, she maintains a connection to her Irish heritage by undertaking various advocacy roles for the Irish Consulate in Perth, and volunteering for the International Rose of Tralee Festival as well as the local Perth Rose Centre. Ms Horgan was appointed for a three-year term from January 2016 to January 2019.

Mr Hamish Jolly
Mr Jolly is a Chartered Accountant with a diverse career in commerce, finance innovation and environment. He is currently a Director of Dunbar Harper Pty Ltd, Biogass Renewables Pty Ltd and Shark Mitigation Systems Pty Ltd. Hamish and has more than 20 years experience in executive leadership of diverse corporate, banking, international development and consulting businesses. Mr Jolly was re-appointed to the Board in 2015 until April 2017.

Mr Brian Piesse
Mr Piesse is a Muresk Institute graduate in agriculture with over 20 years executive management experience within multi-national agricultural and other related industries. He is currently the Managing Director and owner of a private company and holds positions on advisory boards, including the South West Development Commission, Edith Cowan University (South West) and Chair of the CY O'Connor Institute Agribusiness Advisory Committee. He is a former CRC for Soil & Land Management advisory board member. Mr Piesse was appointed for two consecutive terms from January 2013 to January 2018.

Ms Jacqui Purvis
Ms Purvis was appointed to the Board in 2012. She has extensive experience in environmental consultancy and has worked and volunteered within the community in bushcare and environmental education for over 20 years. She is currently managing the Parks and Reserves teams within the City of Albany and also assists with promoting bushcare within the Albany Community. Ms Purvis was re-appointed in 2015 until July 2017.

Chief Executive Officer

Mark Webb was appointed Chief Executive Officer of the Botanic Gardens and Parks Authority on 23 November 2004. Mr Webb joined the BGPA in October 1998 as Director, Living Collections. He has extensive experience in horticultural research, public and private sector management and business. He is a member of the International Society for Horticultural Science and sits on a number of local, national and international committees and boards.


There are over 200 staff employed by the Botanic Gardens and Parks Authority, including permanent, part-time, casual and contract staff. You may be interested in the Organisational Structure which details the reporting relationships and provides an overview of positions in the three directorates: Horticulture and Conservation, Business and Visitor Services, and Science.

pdfBGPA Organisational Structure269.73 KB