Thanks to the generous support of Variety the Children's Charity of WA, the precinct was refurbished in 2009 with modern community facilities including pathways for improved access to the area and electric barbecues. An innovative nature based play area was designed by local woodcarving artist, Nic Compton, with the unique collection of picnic furniture and play elements created from recycled timber from within the park. In recognition of Variety WA's contribution to the project, a former amenities block was converted to the Variety Pavilion.
The Saw Avenue precinct has endured many changes over the last century. The Saw Avenue road alignment once formed part of the original 1870's bridle trail that led from Subiaco to the Crawley Baths; a public watering hole where generations of Western Australians learnt to swim. In 1945, Saw Avenue was named after Kings Park Board member William Allnut Saw, and in 1974, became the home of the Ernst Wittwer Playground built by Kings Park Horticulturist and Superintendent, Ernst Wittwer.
The Saw Avenue area has also been resident to the infamous Jarrah Log since 1978. Originally brought to Kings Park from Dwellingup, the log pays tribute to the significant role that jarrah played in the early colony's economy. The iconic log has now been relocated into the adventure play area, for future generations to enjoy.